Things I heart

Well, I’m back from my whirlwind tour of New York City. I traveled down there with an amalgamated high school band and had a ton of fun. I got to play some music, see some sights, get a grip on my many objections to the concept and execution of Mamma Mia!*, and hang out with some good-natured and sharp-witted teenagers.

This was my first time in NYC. It was as busy and exciting a place as I imagined it would be. What really bowled me over was how beautiful it was.  I think this trip was a multi-day artist’s date for me, to refer again to Julia Cameron.

The spring sunlight, the budding and blooming trees and flowers, and the wonderful architecture were a sight for my eyes, and very inspiring.

My favourite place was the NY Public Library’s Stephen A. Schwarzman Building and the adjacent Bryant Park.

I was feeling a little unwell, and hung out for a while at seat 352 in the Rose Main Reading Room. For me, that was a healing place!  Although there are many grand things to look at in the NYPL, I was very taken by the attention to detail in the smaller architectural aspects:  the water fountains, stair balusters, even the tables and chairs.

When I finally left the building, I decided to check out Bryant Park next door, solely because that is the coveted destination of all Project Runway contestants.  I had imagined it to be a big open space for pitching a large tent.  Wowsers, was I surprised! Instead, I found a beautiful park with bistro style chairs and tables, pink and purple blooms, and even a lovely outdoor toilet (and I’ve never before put those three words together in one phrase).

Some pink and purple at a Bryant Park restaurant.

I had a wonderful trip, and I can’t wait to go back (although, perhaps not by bus). Count me among the millions of people who say “I heart New York”.

Bye for now,

Elizabeth

P.S.  Speaking of Ms Julia Cameron, I came upon a blog post the other day which talks about some benefits of journaling. See what you think.

* with gratitude to my sleepy roommates Julie and Cathy, who let me sputter about the musical until I could object no more.

4 thoughts on “Things I heart

  1. Thanks for sharing your artistic impressions of New York! It truly is a beautiful city and it looks like spring has sprung! I like that you have captured the “lines and lion” of NYC.
    Angela

    • Hi Angela,
      It was great to get a preview of spring! So wonderful when the buds are just emerging. Spring is the great enhancer …. along with foundation wear.
      Elizabeth

  2. What a great picture of the inside of the Library. I love how you describe things! A Library – a healing place, nice.

    • Hello Debbie,
      What you can’t tell from my photo is that the (gigantic) reading room was actually full of a couple of hundred people: working on laptops, reading, studying. It was pretty quiet, no drinks allowed. The atmosphere was rather awesome.
      Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

