Creatively Yours: Three Times Is a Charm

For me, Sedona, Arizona is one of the most beautiful, sacred places on the planet.  I visited for my third time this fall with a group of women for our annual retreat. We stayed at a resort called “Enchantment”, artfully crafted into the red rock of Boynton Canyon. The red rock cliffs and canyons are said to house some of the most powerful energy vortexes in the world as well as sacred burial grounds for Native Americans.  Whether you believe the energy vortexes exist or not, visiting Sedona helps you to see things differently from the many amazing vistas and perspectives that are unique to this desert locale.

Sedona 1

This picture was taken on Bell Rock - the twisted branches on the trees are said to be caused by the energy vortexes.

Sedona 2

This picture was taken just before we set off on our morning hike at 5 a.m. AWESOME!

Daily hikes, meditation, Reiki and massage treatments, visits to town for Tarot Card readings, art gallery hopping and evening dinners under the desert stars were all part of our amazing adventure. Three take aways that I would like to share with you are:

  1. A quote by Mahatma Gandhi that I saw on the front of a T shirt in a souvenir shop. I didn’t need to buy it to bring it home with me: “The way to find your self is to lose yourself in the service of others.”
  2. A book called A Survival Guide for Landlocked Mermaids by Margo Datz.  The book is beautifully illustrated and comes with pearls of advice for landlocked mermaids. A must have for women of every age.  The funny thing is the book was introduced to us by a man.
  3. My own thoughts as I looked out over the vast expanse of red rock………a feeling of being connected to everything….gratitude for family, friends and good health, and a sense that for just this moment, all is well in the world.

Sedona 3
Three is a charm!

Creatively Yours,

Angela

3 thoughts on “Creatively Yours: Three Times Is a Charm

  1. Hi Angela,
    Beautiful pictures! It looks much greener than I imagined it. I can’t process the idea of rising for a 5am hike, though. Otherwise it sounds like a lovely, revitalizing sort of a visit.
    Elizabeth

  2. Hi Elizabeth,
    As the queen of sleep (as in I can never get enough) I could never have imagined that either! But here’s the secret: Sedona is a few hours behind Toronto time (I can’t remember if it is 3 or 4) which makes it really easy to get up at 5am! The other contributing factor is that the temperature. By 11am it was too hot for hiking so best to get any early start on the day. AND, the red rocks really are energizing and yes I did return feeling revitalized!
    Are you are hiker Elizabeth?

    • Hello ladies,
      Love the pictures Angela. Thank you. One of the other factors that would contribute to an early morning hike is the fact that there is little night life in Sedona. Early to bed, early to rise! One of the other highlights of our trip to Sedona was our psychic readings. Keeping with the theme of Sedona, I think I will share my thoughts and experience of tarot cards. Stay tuned.
      Laurie

Leave a Reply

