Thinking of Gratitude

Angela’s most recent post reminded me of a profile I read a few years ago, of the actor Tommy Lee Jones (OMG, it was in 1994!).*  The writer spent several days with Jones, and noted his habit, at the end of each day, of listing the good and interesting things that had happened that day.  Here’s an example from Oct. 31st:  “This was a good day.  We got the pumpkins.  We made jack-o’-lanterns.  We saw Hoagy and Bogart and Bacall in ‘To Have and Have Not.’  We trick-or-treated.”

I’ve forgotten everything else about the article except for this habit of his. Sometimes I use it myself when my mind is buzzing and I can’t get to sleep at night.  For me, this is a form of gratitude, and a tool for an optimistic realignment of my bad attitude.

I like Angela’s idea of choosing a theme for the year.  Looking forward to the blog posts that will flow from the theme of gratitude!

I’d also like to say thank you to the readers of our blog.  We are honoured that you’re reading us.

Elizabeth

Posy

image by horrigans, from Flickr

*Ross, Lillian.  (1994, April 4).  “Onward and upward with the arts:  Keeping up with Mr. Jones”  The New Yorker, 57-63.

Leave a Reply

